Bedroom: Before & After

It’s still work in progress but here’s my bedroom before & after that I’ve been promising…

polaroidWith an empty room, and a small budget I found the cheapest bed; side table and wardrobe Ikea had to offer. By giving the furniture a lick of paint, and breaking my “only white bedlinen” rule I injected a bit of colour to the space…

Mybedroom

I found the cutest little letters at Paddington market yesterday, this little “M” came from Mooza Designs. I made the cushions from old silk headscarves {with $10 machine….which is now up and running again!} and I just love this little card that I found while propping in Vivid shop last week. My fave leopard print pashmina {a cheap purchase from Peacocks a few years back but now I wouldn’t be with out her} doubles up as a bed throw, and I’m loving my Coral side table, in fact I’m just loving coral, even my toe nails match!!

Bedroomdetail

Now it’s far from the prettiest wardrobe I’ve ever seen but for $135 / Β£75 it does the job. {I wonder if I’ll ever stop doing that – converting everything here to pounds in my head!} A lick of paint inside and out had helped but at some point I’m hoping to find a lovely coral fabric to make a curtain for it.

Bedroomstorage

Well there it is, my bargain bedroom. It’s still work in progress but it’s nicer than the hotel room I spent a few weeks in and more comfy than the sofa {that I spent a few nights on while waiting for my Ikea delivery!} The little apartment is slowly starting to feel like home

See the bedroom moodboards here

12 Comments

  1. Posted November 15, 2009 at 7:49 pm | Permalink

    Wow – lovely work! When I redecorate, can you come and do my bedroom too?!

  2. Emma
    Posted November 15, 2009 at 8:23 pm | Permalink

    is that a little owl i spy mary mitchells? x

    • Marie Nichols
      Posted November 15, 2009 at 11:31 pm | Permalink

      It is!! tee hee it’s from a fab store Have you met miss jones – check it our you’ll love it x

  3. Posted November 16, 2009 at 12:54 am | Permalink

    wow. all that coral is fantastic! great room πŸ™‚

  4. linda in suffolk
    Posted November 17, 2009 at 4:13 am | Permalink

    Marie, your bedroom is absolutely gorgeous. I just love the wonderful rich colours you’ve used.

  5. Posted November 17, 2009 at 8:54 am | Permalink

    wow! great job! amazing what a lick of paint can do! the colour is gorgeous x

  6. Posted November 18, 2009 at 5:30 pm | Permalink

    LOOOOOOOOVE this so much, the colours, your bedspread, the cushions…!

  7. Posted November 20, 2009 at 5:23 am | Permalink

    Lovely, loving the coral theme coming out!

  8. Posted November 24, 2009 at 11:55 pm | Permalink

    hi! We have the same name πŸ™‚ I love you room, especially your bed clothes, where did you get them?

    • Marie Nichols
      Posted November 27, 2009 at 9:25 pm | Permalink

      All the best people are called Marie!
      Thank you, the linen is just a cheap one from Ikea. It’s the first time I’ve gone for something over than white, but I Love it!

  9. Posted December 15, 2009 at 7:44 am | Permalink

    beautiful bedroom!! I love it!
    I usually go for white linens as well but seeing your photos full of color….well, now I have to break the all-white-bedding tradition and get some similar pieces from IKEA!

  10. Posted March 19, 2010 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    wow! i like the pink the much!


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] our suitcase each we’ve been so busy working I haven’t had time to feather my nest. The bedroom & office area have had a makeover and are now probably my favourite spaces but that’s […]

  2. […] via Whole Lotta Lovely […]

  3. […] working and living in Sydney for a year. I love it here and have a cute little apartment {see here, here & here} The problem was it came unfurnished, and all I owed in this part of the world was a […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*