Nice Day for a Colourful Wedding

Hello my friends. Firstly a huge thank you for hanging around and waiting out the past month (well really 5 months I’ve been pretty rubbish all year!) As you may have guessed last week I got married! A mid the wedding chaos and shooting (a lovely shoot for CH&I but shooting the Monday before you get married isn’t advisable!) I’ve had no time to pop by but I have stacks to share with you. Of course there is the wedding it’s self. All of the DIY projects that made it, our little “mini-moon” adventure. All of the features I’ve worked on this year. News from the Autumn Winter Press shows and heaps of other finds, so I promise to once again bombard you with loveliness.

I’ve been bursting to share all of the exciting wedding prep with you since xmas but I didn’t want to spoil the surprise for our guests so had to keep quiet {very tricky for moi!}

The day was perfect, and by perfect I mean perfect for us {I’m not blowing my own trumpet!} the sun shone, the Pimm’s flowed; there was Fish and chips; ice cream; cupcakes; Petanque; Sack Racing and dancing…so much dancing! And most importantly there was Me, My lovely Man, Dudley Dog and all of our friends and our amazing family. I have so many photo’s you wouldn’t believe, both of the set up and the finished thing. I can’t decide whether to do a little weekly wedding post or whether to set up a separate little wedding blog. It was a DIY wedding in every sense so I have heaps of little projects to share plus all of the inspiration we stumbled across during the planning. I guess it depends on if the lovely Mr W can be persuaded to design me yet another site – tee hee!! Any way for now here’s a little taster of our very special day last week (I can’t believe it’s a week ago already}…

We had such an amazing day and the fact we created it together made it all the better. A massive thank you to my new Husband for A) wanting to be my husband, b) putting up with various pre-wedding “melt downs” C) Being a super amazing designer who put so much of himself  and his talent into our special day .

Also my fabulous mum  deserves so much thanks I can’t tell you . She helped me make 62 metres of bunting; 84 Napkins; hand stitched table Numbers , Mr & Mrs signs; made bow ties, hankies, helped with the flowers, hanging wallpaper; washing endless teacups and saucers; the ring hoop and so much more I can’t even remember because my mind is still post wedding mush!

My brilliant Brother who spent the week before the wedding being bossed around by me! and grinned and bared it, he picked up the camper, helped restore an ice cream van, was my chauffeur on the day, was an usher; had all of the vehicles looking shiny and new, helped lay tables, blow up balloons and everything in between.

Even his poor girlfriend Katie got roped in and spent the 3 days before the wedding running around after us and making the most amazing 107 cupcakes I’ve ever tasted (not all 107 of them but I gave it a good go!)

And even Dad got involved, putting up signs, hanging fairylights; directing the location of the posh loo’s (someone’s gotta do it!) and for delivering a very touching and amusing speech despite his fear of public speaking!

And a big thank you to my lovely new Mother-In -Law Linda, who feed and watered us all for the whole week, and who probably never wants to see another vintage tea-cup and saucer again after washing them all up after the big day.

Also a mention to the wonderful Eliza, our fantastic photographer, the first pic is a sneak peep of her shots (you can see a few more here) I can’t wait to see the rest of them.

And finally – because I know you’ll ask, the rather fabulous Wedding cakes were made by my old assistant and friend Liz who set up her company The Little Cake Parlour a few years ago and makes the best cakes ever!

Wow…any one would think I’d won an Oscar! I’ll shut up now but I’m just so amazed and over whelmed  by the generosity of my family and friends for helping get the show on the road!

11 Comments

  1. Posted May 30, 2011 at 4:08 am | Permalink

    Congratulations Marie! The pictures are just divine and you look absolutley beautiful x

  2. Posted May 30, 2011 at 7:30 am | Permalink

    absolutely beautiful & perfect perfect perfect…i hope your marriage if full of fun & colour too rx

  3. Posted May 30, 2011 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

    Oh Marie,

    It looks lovely beyond words (but I knew it would be!). Share as much as you like…I can hardly wait!

    Wishing you both happiness today, tomorrow and always!

    Ingrid x

  4. Posted May 31, 2011 at 1:25 am | Permalink

    Congratulations Marie! Those pics look AMAZING, I can’t wait to see more. Love the colours, cakes, the order of service is SO cool – dying to see more.
    Congrats again,
    Janette xx
    My Sweet Prints

  5. Posted May 31, 2011 at 2:30 am | Permalink

    Wow!Just discovered your blog for the first time, and what a treasure! Firstly, congratulations on your recent wedding! I’ll be checking back frequently to enjoy your creative sensibility and beautiful photographs.

  6. Hannah
    Posted May 31, 2011 at 8:40 am | Permalink

    Congratulations Marie! It looks like the absolutely perfect day and so ‘you’!!! Can’t wait to see more. xx

  7. Posted May 31, 2011 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    Congratulations Marie! Your wedding looks like it was so beautiful! We made most things for our wedding, and I think it really adds to the “specialness” of the whole day. Looking forward to seeing more photos! Congrats again!

  8. Posted May 31, 2011 at 4:44 pm | Permalink

    Super beautiful, totally lovely and beautiful! Congratulations!

  9. Posted June 1, 2011 at 10:03 am | Permalink

    Wow Marie! Looks absolutely fantastic! Congratulations to u both x x

  10. Posted June 1, 2011 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    Gosh this look lovely! I’ve just taken a 5 minute break from a ton of paperwork to stop by and what a treat it is. As others have already said, please do share more!
    Congratulations, hope you enjoy every single second of married life.
    Claire.x

  11. Posted June 5, 2011 at 5:20 am | Permalink

    Congratulations Marie, Simon and Dudley. You look gorgeous Marie as does your wedding dress. The wedding reception looks so pretty with all your creative and colourful ideas.
    Your bouquet… exquisite!
    Michelle


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*