Ideal Rooms {for Ideal Home}

I was just flicking through some disks of my work {I’m updating my website very soon!} and I stumbled across a shoot I styled just before leaving Ideal Home. The concept was “Ideal Rooms” In  a dream world what would you incorporate into your Kitchen; Living Room, Home Office and Bedroom {I say dream but we’re talking realistically here , not vast “cribs” style dressing rooms and hot tubs!}

I don’t know about you but I dream of a big open plan kitchen/diner with vast bi-folding doors? And I love the Sanderson wallpaper I used here {even if I do say so myself!!} In fact it would look great in my living room here in Sydney.

Now personally I’m not big on monster Tv’s {especially mounting them above fireplaces, I had my arm twisted on this one!} but actually teamed with a modern wall hung fireplace it kinda works, and sadly huge Tv’s seem to be big news! { I’ve recently shot another big TV feature so watch this space for more inspiration!} I do love built-in shelving though, oh and yellow, I love yellow!!

So this was our Family Office, a place for household papers; kids; crafting and work. I’m really in to dark walls at the moment. My dream office would be filled with gorgeous stationery from Present & Correct

When it comes to the bedroom, correct me if I’m wrong, I think every girl dreams of a walk-in-wardrobe? You don’t have to have a spare room, why not build a false wall behind the bed to hide your own mini walk in? I papered our wall in one of Neisha Crosland’s new affordable wallpapers exclusive to John Lewis {love her designs}

So what would feature in your ideal home?

Photography: Simon Whitmore; Styling, Me; Client: Ideal Home

7 Comments

  1. Posted February 12, 2010 at 2:05 am | Permalink

    My ideal room would be stylish, functional, organized, yet charming with little personal touches. Im working on these things now. Sometimes it feels hard when you don’t really have a budget and are just piece-mealing it together, but I think with patience it will come.
    I love those wallpapers. I’ve never been into wallpaper for my home, but am thinking about something fun for my kitchen.

  2. kate
    Posted February 12, 2010 at 2:41 am | Permalink

    yay, these photos are very familiar! I spotted the kitchen image on bloglovin’ and thought ‘why do I know that?’
    Cannot believe the shoot was so long ago! Hope you are enjoyign Oz… xx

    • Posted February 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm | Permalink

      Loving Oz!!! Your blog is looking gorgeous hun, how’s things in London?

  3. Posted February 12, 2010 at 11:48 am | Permalink

    love your we site nice pretty picture. like that back ground.

  4. Posted February 13, 2010 at 9:22 am | Permalink

    We have the Sanderson in our living room and I loved it, I adored it right up until the set designers at Hollyoaks used it for one of the flats. Now my heart sinks when it flashes up on my (modest) TV screen. I know, terrible admission but there you have it – I watch Hollyoaks and that is my punishment!

    • Posted February 14, 2010 at 11:01 pm | Permalink

      Oh Kat, I feel your pain! I once had the same happen with a paper I set my heart on and then saw in Peggy Mitchell’s house in Eastenders!

      • Posted February 20, 2010 at 6:03 am | Permalink

        Peggy Mitchell – ouch!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Via Whole Lotta Lovely […]

  2. […] Via Whole Lotta Lovely […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*