Colour Inspired By Nature {House & Garden}

Regular readers will know that I’m a big fan of colour! Generally colour is the starting point for all of my decorating schemes and I find colour inspiration just about everywhere. When I first arrived in Sydney I was so facinated by how “colourful” everything was. The grass seems greener, the sky is certainly bluer and the birds and butterflies are amazing! So when House & Garden asked me to produce a colour feature showing how to translate colours from nature into the home I was already feeling super inspired, here’s the outcome…

Client, House & Garden, Photographer, John Paul Urizar, Styling, Marie Nichols

The blue room is my favourite. I know perhaps it might be a little dramatic for an everyday sitting room but as a second reception room {wouldn’t it be nice to have one of those!} – fabulous! Would love to know what you think, how brave are you with colour?

Tomorrow I’ll post the moodboards.

10 Comments

  1. Posted October 10, 2010 at 6:18 pm | Permalink

    I love colour.I’m not too bold within the home I love the crisp white lines however in the garden and the kitchen I’m alot bolder! I love the changing seasons and with them their colour palete!

  2. Posted October 10, 2010 at 9:25 pm | Permalink

    Once again, you have given us some gorgeous images Marie. I’m actually in the process of posting about this H&G issue right now.

    Am going to miss your work in the Aussie magazines. It truly has been delightful seeing your work.

    Sandy K

    • Posted October 12, 2010 at 5:01 pm | Permalink

      Thank you so much for the lovely words Sandy. I’m going to miss working for all the gorgeous Aussie mags so much, this year has been so inspiring…and very busy! Mx

  3. Posted October 12, 2010 at 3:05 am | Permalink

    This is beautiful Marie – a little selfish, but can’t wait to see you back here and styling for magazines I can actually buy again!

    Bethan x

    • Posted October 12, 2010 at 4:57 pm | Permalink

      Thanks Bethan. Not long now until I’m back in the UK, Cant believe how quickly this year has gone! x

  4. Posted October 20, 2010 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

    Wow! Another amazingly put together shoot! Love how you show your ideas from concept through to final layout! I work for a magazine in NZ and your work is your work is always an inspiration!

    Alice

    p.s Who is the budgie print by?

    • Posted October 20, 2010 at 8:18 pm | Permalink

      Hey Alice,
      Thanks for the Kind words.Isn’t the Budgie print amazing! I based the scheme around him. He’s called “Jimmy” and he’s by Leila Jeffreys. It’s a limited edition framed print and is $1500AUD at Iain Dawson Gallery http://www.iaindawson.com
      Mx

  5. Sharda
    Posted December 9, 2010 at 9:16 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie,
    Can you please tell me where the budgie print is from I’m in love with it.
    Thanks
    Sharda

  6. Sharda
    Posted December 9, 2010 at 9:18 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie,
    Sorry I just read the above post. Question Answered…. Thanks

    • Posted December 12, 2010 at 9:26 pm | Permalink

      Hi Sharda, Hope you get yourself a “Jimmy” it’s even more stunning in real life
      M


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*