Hendy’s Home Store

I don’t often blog at the weekend these days but today I’m making an exception because I can’t wait until Monday to share this little gem with you. With the sun shining Simon and I decided to take the little old Austin Healy out for it’s first trip of the year. We headed for the coast…and naturally ended up in Hastings. For our past few trips to the seaside town we’ve peered into the windows of Number 36 The High Street in the Old Town, wondering what lies behind…today we discovered the wonderful Hendy’s Home Store and it exceeded our expectations. It’s quite unlike any other shop I’ve been in…and I’ve been in a lotta shops!.  Is everything I’ve pictured in my head if Number 57 one day becomes an actual shop rather than just a virtual one.  As you step through the shop door it’s as though you’ve stepped back in time, to an age where shop keepers are chatty, display are simple and understated and everything was useful and beautiful in equal measure. They were kind enough to allow me to take some pics so I could share the loveliness with you….

I love utilitarian product {think Labor and Wait; Baileys Home & Garden} and industrial / vintage finds always catch my eye. Gorgeous product aside what wowed me the most was the décor and the treatment within the store. I immediately imagined {while being more than a little green with envy1}, that when owner Alistair Hendy {Cook, foodie and photographer} procured the property he pulled back plasterboard walls to discover original fixtures and fitting, beautifully distress wooden paneling and time worn walls, but no!  Alistair has spent the past 3 years making the store feel effortlessly aged and original in its understated glory. Apart from one paneled wall and the staircase he has created everything else, returning what was an artex filled shell to it’s former Victorian glory. I take my hat off to him – it’s amazing. Hendy’s website is still in the making but you can follow them on Twitter and Facebook, but you’ve really got to see it to appreciate it so I urge you to head to Hastings: A.G. Hendy & Co. Home Store, 36 High Street, Hastings Old Town, TN34 3ER.

{Images Via Moi!}

2 Comments

  1. Posted March 10, 2012 at 10:45 pm | Permalink

    I want to visit Hendy’s…sooo cool.

  2. Posted March 12, 2012 at 6:44 pm | Permalink

    One of my favourite new shops in Hastings, so so gorgeous, It’s like stepping back in time simply wonderful. JMx


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

