A Stylist & Her Props…

It’s a funny thing being freelance. A constant work / life battle. I tend to feel that I shouldn’t grumble about being too busy because you never know when you might hit a “dry patch” but blimey, I’ve been busy! When you love what you do it’s hard not to allow work to consume your every waking hour. After a crazy  few months of working around the clock I decided enough was enough and so I’ve factored in a little more “me time” into the schedule. I’ve been playing at being the “good wife” home cooked diners on the table; a tidy {ish] house an even a spot of baking…I could get used to this! Finally I’ve found time to sort through all  of my props which have been building up, filling every corner of my house {which was starting to resemble Steptoe’s yard} . The hubby and I have boarded part of the loft and built a new mini shed in the garden, allowing the main shed to become my prop store, freeing up valuable space in the house. Today while sorting through yet more boxes of props I couldn’t help but feel inspired to get the camera out and snap a few of my recent additions to the prop shed…

 

{all images styled and shot by me!}

So you see even on a “day off” I just can’t help myself, but it was such fun. Of course I look at the pics and think they could have been so much better with a “proper photographer” behind the lens but I enjoyed myself never the less and I’m thinking that I should invest in a decent camera and “play” a little more often. At the moment I’m using my Dad’s hand-me-down Lumix SLR but maybe the time has come to upgrade, if you have any recommendations please let me know!

Tomorrow is filled with Spring/Summer press shows, so I’ll be popping on the flats and heading into town. Meet you back here for a sneak preview of what’s hot for SS12 tomorrow eve?

 

7 Comments

  1. Posted November 10, 2011 at 4:54 pm | Permalink

    Lovely things. Especially like the plates and the old scissors and keys

  2. Jessica Hanson
    Posted November 11, 2011 at 10:25 am | Permalink

    Gorgeous Marie! Less work, more play! x

    • Posted November 11, 2011 at 3:48 pm | Permalink

      Hey Jess, Lovely to hear from you , hope you and the team are all well. Please say hello to everyone from me
      Mx

  3. Posted November 12, 2011 at 5:24 am | Permalink

    Wow, beautiful shots. Especially love the first one.🙂

  4. Posted November 15, 2011 at 5:40 pm | Permalink

    These photos look professional enough to me! What a lovely collection of bits and bobs – the one with the grain sack and various scissors on the shelf is my fave.

  5. Posted November 17, 2011 at 10:15 am | Permalink

    Hi Marie, These shots are gorgeous. I was thinking that to myself before I read your comment. Carry on snapping, please!! The first shot is especially beautiful!x

  6. Posted November 22, 2011 at 5:21 pm | Permalink

    Wow are those gorgeous shots! I particularly love the last one of the mini pumpkins!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

