Preview : The Shop at Number 57

The Shop at Number 57 is very nearly here. Simon is remaining optimistic and is convinced we will be live by the end of the month. I on the other hand am being far more “Marie” about the situation, desperately trying to tick things off the huge “to do” list but seem to just keep adding more, in the words of Twitter #todolist FAIL.

The dream of setting up a business with the hubby initially seemed so idyllic. Don’t get me wrong it is STILL massively exciting and I’m lucky to have such a talented chap to work alongside but who’d of though it would be nearly 18months in the making. I’m so desperate to get the site up and running now, it’s looking great but there are so many exciting things that I want to do with it that I can barely contain myself! Simon and I are a good team, I tend to have the stylist attitude of it’s got to look beautiful but all come together in just a few hours. Simon is far more meticulous and ensures that everything is just so! I’ve got so many ideas buzzing around in my head and Simon turns them into reality. Sadly it isn’t all designing / sourcing lovely product. Today I’ve spent the morning trying to get shipping quotes, seriously uninspiring stuff and the only way I can get through it is to draw pretty pictures of boats and scoff numerous giant chocolate buttons. Several packs of buttons later and I’ve still drawn a blank. It’s a whole new world to me! I have such admiration for all of the other small independent mail order stores out there, it’s so much more involved than I’d ever imagined. How on earth do you juggle it all? Is it just me or does it take some adjusting to getting your head round everything?

Simon is putting the finishing touches to our press release {which will go out next week} but I couldn’t wait any longer to give you a sneaky peep {you’ve been so patient after all!}

What do you think? Gosh it actually feels a bit scary putting it out there! Until this point it’s felt like playing shop, now with the launch just a few weeks away it’s starting to feel very real!

If you’re not already on our mailing list you can join up here and we will keep you up to date with all of our latest news…like when we open!

In the meantime if it all goes a bit quite around here rest assured that I’d far rather be pouring over some loveliness but I’ve probably got my head in a spreadsheet so will be seizing the opportunity to pop back very soon!

 

9 Comments

  1. Sandra
    Posted June 20, 2011 at 5:20 pm | Permalink

    Nearly there – and it will be worth it!! MM xx

  2. Posted June 20, 2011 at 11:20 pm | Permalink

    It looks awesome Marie! All the best for the launch. x

  3. Posted June 21, 2011 at 3:31 am | Permalink

    It all looks fantastic so far. I know exactly what you mean about the work involved, I am setting up my own online shop at present, and it’s all the unsexy stuff that takes all the time! I attended three, yes THREE, tax seminars last week, just so I can make sure I’m doing everything I should be.

    Good luck with getting it up and running soon.

  4. Posted June 22, 2011 at 8:53 pm | Permalink

    It’s all looking great! Good luck for the last big push!

  5. Posted June 30, 2011 at 11:53 am | Permalink

    It’s not very often I come across a website/shop that I want everyone to know about but this is one and I haven’t even seen the full range yet!! Love everything I’ve seen so far, but especially the mice. Images and styling wonderful. I wish you Good Luck and every success

  6. Posted June 30, 2011 at 11:59 am | Permalink

    So far it looks great, it is very refreshing to see a shop that will stock unusual products the styling is gorgeous, pls let me know when the shop is up and running so i can post about it in my blog. GOOD LUCK with your new venture, I myself started to work n some products with my hubby and so far so good so as long as you 2 have your roles clear all would be fine!!
    marga

  7. Posted June 30, 2011 at 8:45 pm | Permalink

    I am inspireed – exactly the kinda stuff I love – let me know when you go live please!

  8. Posted July 1, 2011 at 4:51 pm | Permalink

    I’m very excited for the shop to open! Keep at it!

  9. Posted July 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm | Permalink

    & for the second time today someone has succeeded in making me nostalgic for blighty … i don’t really miss england at all but for some reason i want/need to visit. maybe it’s that my son needs to see where he comes from (or at least 50% of him does). can’t wait for the store to be up & running, some gorgeous prints i would love to see on my walls.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

