Exploring Bangalow {a little more!}

So Bangalow has proven to be my haven the past few days. With the weather staying true to it’s previous form and the sun reluctant to come out to play we’ve been driving around, eating late brekkies and early lunches and most importantly exploring cute shops. Aside from  Heaths Oldwares a couple of other places caught my eye in Bangalow. First up Aurora Design Studio. I’m a bit of a sucker for “judging a shop by it’s exterior”, so immediately I was drawn to the cute chalkboard signs.  Owner Carolyn  has a moto for the store “design with a conscience’ so Aurora sells beautifully designed products which support local designers and makers and the environment, take a peep…

Second up is Lazybones. Back in Sydney I lived really close to their Paddington store so I was a regular visitor and featured lots of their gorgeous floral print homewares {especially in my Roses shoot} The Bangalow store is easily three times the size and has the added bonus of lots of vintage finds. I particularly liked the very appropriate touch to the bench outside {technically Simon isn’t a hubby yet, but 6 months to the day he will be!}

Now my next recommendation is slightly further afield in Lismore but is well worth the scenic drive should you happen to be in the area on the first or last saturday of the month , for the car boot markets {please check this I only briefly saw a glimpse of the banner before being distracted by a stall full of old haberdashery items!}. Ross from Heaths Oldwares gave us the tip-off earlier in the week and we weren’t disappointed. Obviously I can’t possibly buy anything else there simply isn’t room in the case, so naturally we came away with the following…Whoops!

And it was all fantastically priced, I’m particularly loving the old tubes of buttons – cute!!! There was some great vintage clothing on offer too. I managed to treat myself to a lovely new frock-well it was $25 it would have been rude not to!

Now I just have to figure out how to get it home. Tomorrow is our last day in Byron, in the evening we head back to Sydney for a few last days before setting off for Blighty.

Hope you’ve all had lovely weekends my friends x

3 Comments

  1. Lyndsay
    Posted November 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm | Permalink

    Oh dear, it’s not long before you go! You will be missed, although it will be great to read your UK (and wedding!) adventures.
    That seat is hilarious, Simon is a trooper!

  2. Posted November 22, 2010 at 8:16 am | Permalink

    We stumbled across the car boot markets in Lismore during our trip up that way in September…and oh. my. god! Not only were they HUGE, but there was soooo much great stuff. I only came away with some vintage kids books, but wanted to take so much more!

  3. Posted November 22, 2010 at 11:51 am | Permalink

    Looking forward to hearing about the wedding & your finds back home.

    The weather down this way has been magnificent and looks like it will hold out for your last few days in Sydney.

    Safe travels.

    Sandy K
    xxx


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

