Home Envy

Working as an interiors stylist I get to see inside lots of gorgeous homes. However I tend not to shoot other peoples “real” houses. Lots of stylists do but I prefer not to. I feel like it’s not really my work and I’m taking the credit for something somebody else has created. If I’m shooting something I like to come up with the ideas and start from scratch. For much the same reason I don’t tend to post too many houses here. Unless I can find out the details of the homes owner {who is after all the “real stylist}” I don’t like to show them it just doesn’t see fair and sadly the homeowner details so often get lost in the blogging ether. However when I saw Jutta’s gorgeous home {in beautiful Finland} on Sf Girl By Bay I couldn’t resist but to share it. I love everything about it. From the sorbet shades to the eclectic mix of retro furniture and brightly painted pieces. I also love her neutral bedroom, there are some great ideals to steal too, how cute is the reclaimed door headboard? And what an amazing idea for a festive mobile – a branch and some doilies – I think I may have to try that one out this year.  So it’s another case of Marie gets “Home Envy”…see what I mean?

Homeowner Jutta is a freelance designer and illustrator and has the most delightful blog Kootut Murut.

If you want to create Jutta’s look at home here’s a few piece that I think would work well {British Buys on top, Aussie buys “Down under”!}

UK

1.Side table from Kartell {available here}2. Glass Knob from Zara Home. 3. Ceramic bowl from Anthropologie. 4.Cabinet, Graham & Green. 5.Chest of drawers, The French Bedroom Company.  6.Vintage coffee set, The OK Corral.

Australia

7. Ikat cushion from Table Tonic. 8. Stylish china from Country Road. 9. Palm Springs side table from EcoChic. 10. Cute cushion, Nell Design. 11. Retro sofa from Matt Blatt.

I’m thinking that maybe I’ll show a few more ‘House Tours” After all who doesn’t love a good nose about someone elses home! Phew a long one today, I’m feeling guilty for being a bad blogger of late! Have a lovely evening / day {depending where in the world you may be}.

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Posted November 17, 2010 at 9:48 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie Thanks for sharing – I am captivated by Jutta’s style. When are you jetting off? J x

    • Posted November 19, 2010 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

      Hey Jane

      I leave next Thursday. Sad times😦 but excited about going home too!
      Mx

  2. Posted November 18, 2010 at 6:22 am | Permalink

    beautiful! I love stylists😉

  3. Posted November 18, 2010 at 5:04 pm | Permalink

    Just have to say – your blog is gorgeous!

  4. Posted November 19, 2010 at 2:13 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for the kind words – they really do make my day
    x

  5. Posted November 20, 2010 at 9:50 am | Permalink

    I love this style!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] trying to envision how I want the finished space to look.   I love the reds and pinks and the pretty pastels in these bright, airy,  living and work spaces featured on Whole Lotta Lovely.   Over on decor8, […]

  2. […] I am also trying to envision how I want the finished space to look.   The reds and pinks and the pretty pastels in these bright, airy,  living and work spaces featured on Whole Lotta Lovely make me think of […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

