Byron & Beyond

So this week Simon & I finally got around to booking up our little 3 1/2 week getaway before we head back to the UK. There was so much that we wanted to see and do before heading home but time has just run out on us. Besides which it’s a great excuse to come back! When we leave Sydney at the end of the month we’re heading up to Cairns. After a few days based in Port Douglas and exploring The Daintree rainforest we are heading to the Whitsundays for some R&R , a quick swing by Brisbane and then a short drive down to Byron Bay for 6 days before coming back to Sydney for a couple of days. While trawling through the internet looking for a cute cottage or Apartment to stay in Byron I remembered Atlantic Guesthouse. It was featured in Country Style a while back {sadly it’s not available when we are in Byron but gorgeous!}

How cute it that Airstream?! Reminds me of Vintage Vacations in the UK.

My question for you is does any one have any must have places to go see or to go eat in and around Byron? Secret shops or great spots for coffee {well a cuppa tea in my case!} I’d love and insider knowledge.

 

 

 

9 Comments

  1. Posted October 23, 2010 at 9:17 am | Permalink

    Hi Marie,
    Bangalow near Byron (up in the hinterland) is lovely. If you haven’t already booked somewhere to stay… Shannon Fricke has a lovely guesthouse wing at The Little Cottage (her studio) – I’m not sure if it is available for rent all of the time but I’m sure being a fellow stylist she would love to have you. There are some gorgeous shops in and around Bangalow – Heaths Old wares, Lazybones to name a few. I’m going back to Bangalow in March next year for a workshop on Styling held by Shannon. Can’t wait!!

    Your trip will be great! I can’t believe I still haven’t been to Port Douglas and I live in Queensland. When in the Whitsundays, try to go to Whitehaven Beach – it has the whitest sand you have ever seen.

    Think of me when you drive by the Gold Coast on the way to Byron Bay😉

    Have fun, we’ll be sad to see you go.

    Julie
    x

    • Merryn
      Posted October 23, 2010 at 3:59 pm | Permalink

      Hi Marie, I’ll second Julie’s comments whom I met in March at one of Shannon’s workshops. Some other cool shops to check out are Island Luxe in Bangalow and the Stangetrader in Byron Bay, ah and Bay Leaf in Byron can’t be beaten for coffee and brekky!!Have fun, P.S love your Blog x

      • Posted October 24, 2010 at 4:58 pm | Permalink

        Hey Merryn
        I’m defo going to check out those shops. My fave thing about holidays is exploring new stores! Thanks for the ideas and the kind words
        mx

    • Posted October 24, 2010 at 4:56 pm | Permalink

      Thanks Julie, great suggestions, I can’t wait to go and explore. Whitehaven beach is top of my Whitsunday’s list!
      x

  2. Fiona
    Posted October 23, 2010 at 6:12 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie

    Carabella Cottage in Bangalow was great when we stayed there about this time last year. Bangalow, Bangalow, Bangalow is all I can say! I hope your trip coincides with the Bangalow Markets. Mullimbimby was nice also and had some cute shops!

    Hope you have a great time and I can’t wait to hear about how you go back home. I spent 10 years in the UK with my beautiful geordie hubby🙂 We have been back here for about 7 now and are starting to feel really home sick for the greener lands of the UK.

    Have fun
    Fi🙂

    • Posted October 24, 2010 at 5:01 pm | Permalink

      Hi Fi – it’s certainly looks like Bangalow is the place to go! Isn’t it such a shame that UK and Australia aren’t a little closer together?, I wish it was a case of a couple of hours flight, rather than a couple of days – life would be so much easier!
      Mx

  3. Posted October 24, 2010 at 8:04 am | Permalink

    OK, I’m going to rave about Bangalow as well! We spent a week in Byron about a month ago and actually spent much of our time in Bangalow (a ten minute drive away). Ate and The Urban were two of our favourite places to eat. Favourite shops: Lazybones, Echidna (for kids), Heaths Old Wares and many other places up and down the main street.

    We stayed in a very cute little beach house in the middle of Byron Bay (not that far from Atlantic guesthouse) that was well priced and has all the lovely little touches of home:
    http://www.stayz.com.au/50875

    You will really love Byron & Bangalow. Enjoy!

    • Posted October 24, 2010 at 5:03 pm | Permalink

      Hey Barb

      I spent so long looking on Stayz and that cottage was my top pick! Sadly not available when we are there – but very cute. Bangalow is now top of my to do list – thanks for the tips, can’t wait to go and check them out
      Mx

  4. Posted October 25, 2010 at 9:39 pm | Permalink

    when your in Byron, theres a place called ‘the Orgasmic felafel’. Cheesy name , i know, but trust me…the food is so worth it! I drive an hour just to have there felafel pockets. It’s near the Beach hotel down a side street. And if your there for the Byron Markets (first sunday of every month) go find the Organic donught stall. They do dark chocolate filled donughts….yum!
    Have a great time. X Zina
    http://zinawright.typepad.com/messyart/


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

