Goodbye Notebook

One of my favourite magazines that I’ve worked for since arriving in Sydney is Notebook. Not only are they totally in to all things crafty but they alway produce such beautiful homes pages and so their briefs are always a joy to work on. I was so surprised and sad to receive an email from their PA yesterday letting me know that Notebook magazine will be closing and that the November issue will be their last. I’ve  finished my styling in Sydney now so I’m not sad from a work point of view but so sad that Australia has lost a truly lovely magazine. I fail to understand why it’s always the lovely magazines that close? It’s readership although small was 70,000 which is still pretty impressive. I guess Notebook has gone the same way as my American faves Domino and Blueprint so yet again I find myself mourning the loss of another mag. I’m feeling grateful that I got to work for such a lovely title and with such a great team – thank you Notebook. What do you think? Will you miss Notebook? what other mags have you loved and lost?

Styling; Marie Nichols, Photography, Craig Wall

9 Comments

  1. Posted October 6, 2010 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

    What!!???😦

    I loved Notebook. I used to get copies from my aunt in Australia. (I live in the Philippines.)

  2. Posted October 6, 2010 at 11:01 pm | Permalink

    Wow! I had no idea, this is very sad indeed. Notebook is one of my monthly treats, along with Country Style. What a shame.

  3. Fleur
    Posted October 7, 2010 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    Noooooo! I cant be true! Its the only mag I buy each month. Tragic
    F x

  4. Posted October 7, 2010 at 9:47 am | Permalink

    Oh no!! I love Notebook magazine! It’s so refreshing and different and just … pretty. I loved buying it every month. As Cathy said, it’s a shame😦

  5. Posted October 7, 2010 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    Oh no……my Mum and I both love Notebook…..it’s so fresh and easy to read. And I do owe them (and you) for featuring one of my pillows in a past issue. x

  6. Posted October 8, 2010 at 3:08 am | Permalink

    Oh I am sad -I enjoyed my subscription to Notebook. I know it surprises me when such nice publications close.

  7. Posted October 11, 2010 at 1:45 pm | Permalink

    I was also sad to hear the news. Why on earth all the trashy celebrity magazines survive when Notebook crashes is just too depressing to contemplate. Cookie, Domino and now Notebook. Plus Violet which I am still mourning. I even bought two copies of the last Notebook as I loved the piece you did there so much! I hope Country Living UK, Red, Lula and Country Style Aus survive. xx

  8. Posted October 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    My only hope is that another publishing company realise what a loss it will be and step in a snap it up – keeping everything crossed Mx

  9. Jane
    Posted November 16, 2010 at 4:32 pm | Permalink

    Such disapointing news. I thaught the guy at the newsagency was having a joke at my expense, when he told me. Let’s hope the sites still stay…it’s the only mag I buy…:-(


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

