A Sweet Treat {Hummingbird Bakery}

A few years back Simon and I spent a lovely afternoon taking in the sights of Notting Hill market, it was then that I discovered the wonderful Hummingbird Bakery. A couple of days ago I arrived back home after a long day shooting to find that my lovely friend Liz had sent me a copy of the Hummingbird Bakery Cook Book. Along with  a little note saying I need to get practicing so we can have a “bake off “when I get home.

I love baking and since arriving here in Sydney I haven’t even got close to a muffin case or mixing bowl. So, inspired by the most delicious looking cook book I’ve ever seen (with amazing photography by super talented Peter Cassidy who I’ve been lucky enough to work with) I tried to decided what to bake, but left the decision to Simon who isn’t really a “cake person” so he chose the Apple Pie. Despite never having made pastry before and not owning a set of scales (so I had to guess quantities) it didn’t turn out too bad

I’d love to say it looked just like the photo, but I’d be lying! Lucky for me {to spare myself the shame of creating a slightly less pretty pie} it was too dark to take a snap when it was cooked – but it tasted pretty good! Next weekend I’m going to try my hand at these Brownies – they look amazing!

2 Comments

  1. Liz
    Posted July 12, 2010 at 5:28 am | Permalink

    Simon might not be a “cake person” but that doesn’t stop him feeding hundreds of them to Ella before dinner!! Glad you liked the book hon. xx

  2. Posted July 12, 2010 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    I know!!! or polishing off a fair few himself when he’s in the mood. I’m looking foraward to next weeks ~Brownies, I’m even going to buy myself a set of scales! Mx


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

