My Sydney Apartment {Real Living Shoot}

My Sydney apartment features in this months issue of Real Living magazine. Apologies if you’ve already seen the feature – this is more for my Uk friends who keep asking for pics and I’ve failed to send them! The decor is pretty different from my Uk home {and it’s about half the size} but since arriving here last October with just a suitcase to our name we’ve  transformed the apartment on a tiny budget to make it feel a like “our place {see before pic’s here!}. My whole approach to decorating had to chance because it’s a rental and I can’t just paint and paper as I wish so colour has been injected pretty much everywhere else other than the walls!

Of course I say “my apartment” but really it’s “our  apartment” it’s about time I introduced you to the “other half” the marvellous Simon…{who hates this picture and the fact it went across a DPS in the mag..tee hee!}

Behind every stylist is a very patient and understanding partner.. who puts up with late nights planning shoots; offers to help paint walls; builds flat pack furniture and acts as a courier service on a regular basis {not to mention being the designer behind this blog & my website} So a big thank you to “Mr Lovely” who gave up his London life to support me and help me follow my dream x

15 Comments

  1. Posted July 4, 2010 at 2:24 am | Permalink

    Hi Marie! How are you??!!! I´m a big fan of yours and I loooove to see your work and read your posts. It´s so kind of you to share all those beautiful images with us!!! I´m from Sao Paulo, Brazil and I´d like to become a Stylist too…wow it would be a dreaming come true!!! Kisses and hugs from Brazil

  2. Liz
    Posted July 4, 2010 at 4:04 am | Permalink

    Love it, Simon looks lovely!! Miss you guys loads even more so yesterday!! xx

  3. Posted July 4, 2010 at 5:12 am | Permalink

    It looks really homey, and kudos on the creative ways you have brought colour to the walls.

  4. Clare Steel
    Posted July 4, 2010 at 6:40 am | Permalink

    where’s his man bag (and what’s he got in it?)?!!! X

  5. Fleur
    Posted July 5, 2010 at 10:11 am | Permalink

    Once again, just beautiful x

  6. Horatio
    Posted July 5, 2010 at 1:56 pm | Permalink

    Yes a great feature, I’m loving all the bright warm colours

  7. Michelle
    Posted July 6, 2010 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie! Please let Simon know there is no reason to hate his picture. I LOVED your apartment in the Real Living mag, I also rent and I know how frustrating it is that you can’t paint any walls! You have done very well without having to paint, the space looks very bright and oh so comfortable! Thanks for sharing🙂

  8. Sandra
    Posted July 6, 2010 at 10:24 pm | Permalink

    I would say it’s a very Si picture!! MM xx

  9. Posted July 7, 2010 at 9:42 am | Permalink

    Oh Marie, that’s lovely, well done on being featured, and also it’s amazing that you can make a home all your own. You’ve done a fantastic job, it looks gorgeous. Hope you’re doing well and keeping happy down in Sydney x

  10. Posted July 7, 2010 at 6:13 pm | Permalink

    ohmygoodness that was YOUR home?! so phenomenal! that red bedroom is so fantastic. i have the same duvet cover but it looks so much better the way you have layered it🙂 all very inspiring images/rooms!
    j.

  11. Posted July 18, 2010 at 10:58 am | Permalink

    Gorgeous place! Really loving the bedroom…soft, romantic and cheery!
    From Bali With Love,
    Anna

  12. sara
    Posted August 9, 2010 at 9:08 pm | Permalink

    very inspiring!

    Im wondering where you got your livingroom table (the square one with flowers on it), exactly what Im looking for!

    • Posted August 10, 2010 at 1:05 am | Permalink

      Hey Sara

      The table is actually from good old Ikea. It’s from their Stockholm collection. I love the retro feel of it
      x

  13. Jenny Browne
    Posted October 31, 2010 at 5:35 pm | Permalink

    I missed your garage sale any furniture left?

    • Posted October 31, 2010 at 11:11 pm | Permalink

      Hey Jenny
      I’m sorry but no there isn’t. We sold most of the large pieces on ebay and all the smaller bits went yesterday
      Mx


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Virginia Macdonald, RUM, Whole lotta lovely, Sixx Design (2) and Living […]

  2. […] these colour combos at the moment, bright and cheery yellow & coral {a combo that feature in my Sydney apartment} and fresh greys and blues – to me they just say…summers on it’s way – […]

  3. […] garage sale in the world! We still got a few furniture items, some colourful chairs; stools and my pegboard inspiration board that are up for grabs […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

