My First Home

Oh my goodness there just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day at the moment. I’m working non stop and have little time to eat, sleep, let alone blog. I’m so sorry for my absence. A little reminder of home this evening. About a year ago {my how that year has flown} just as the final plans for our trip to Oz were coming together Photographer Max Attenborough and myself got together to shoot the little home Simon & I created in the UK. Our first home together, and a real wreak! It was deemed uninhabitable by the local council when we first bought it four years ago. After 6 months of hard work and a fair bit of TLC we got it into some sort of shape…

I’m gutted because I so badly want to show you the “befores” but they’re on our computer that’s back in the UK. Last month our house featured in British Marie Claire and this month I’ve just discovered it in Australian Home Beautiful. I wrote the feature for them last September so I thought they’d forgotten about it, but what a lovely surprise to find it in this months issue. I’ll show you the Upstairs pics tomorrow. Oh and next week I can share the pics that Real Living shot of our Sydney apartment – Sorry it’s all me me me!!

11 Comments

  1. Fleur
    Posted June 18, 2010 at 10:22 am | Permalink

    Its stunning Marie! Although I kind of want you to adopt Oz as your long term home (as I have done!) I can understand why you would want to return to the UK. Its cosy but elegant.
    Ive been meaning to contact you to ask some advice. There is no contact button on your blog? I want to ask if you have any tips on writing press releases for homewares to catch stylists and editors attention. I know its a bit off topic of what you blog about, but it you do have any tips maybe you could email me.
    Many Thanks
    Fleur
    PS Do you have any idea, where I could get the contact details of stylists from to send them the Press Release, do they read such websites as PR web etc?

    • Posted June 22, 2010 at 2:13 am | Permalink

      Hey Fleur
      I’ll have a think and email you some tips towards the end of the week if that’s ok? I’ve got two big shoots this week so crazy right now – pester me again if you’ve not heard from me by saturday! x

  2. Posted June 18, 2010 at 11:44 pm | Permalink

    Home Beautiful is one of my favourites and it was such a treat to take a peak inside your home! ‘Some sort of shape’ is an understatement…it’s gorgeous! I can hardly wait for the next Real Living…I hope it’s not considered stalking (but I do adore you style!).

    x

  3. Posted June 19, 2010 at 1:47 am | Permalink

    Hi Marie,
    I picked a copy of Home Beautiful today and saw your beautiful abode on it. I love its mix of feminine and masculine. It is an absolute wonderful example that style doesn’t mean money. I am looking forward to having a peek at your Sydney place as well.
    Cheers
    Maja

    • Posted June 22, 2010 at 2:15 am | Permalink

      Thanks Maja – I’m a firm believer that a tiny bugdget doesn’t mean you have to skimp on the style
      Mx

  4. Posted June 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

    amazing! Love the fireplace!
    The Design Dish

  5. Posted June 22, 2010 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

    Hi,

    just found your blog through Decor8. Love what you have done to your home. We have just bought a ‘wreck’ and your house has given lots of inspiration.

    Would you mind me asking where your kitchen is from?

    Thanks, M x

    • Posted June 22, 2010 at 9:53 pm | Permalink

      Hey Michelle
      I’m so envious – I really want a new “project” It’s so rewarding doing up your own place. The Kitchen was from Focus DIY http://www.focusdiy.co.uk. It was about 4 years ago but they could very well still do it.
      Have fun with your project
      Mx


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] « My First Home […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

