Make An Entrance {Real Living Shoot}

Ooopp’s I promised to post this yesterday and forgot! A few months back Real Living asked me to create six looks for Front Doors for their May issue. Front doors are so important to the look and feel of your home, get it wrong and you can literally knock thousands off the value of your home. When we bought our little house back in the Uk replacing the nasty door was top of my list, however because of the expense involved and my ever-changing choice of colour I kept putting it off, so my house still lacks the Kerb appeal it deserves, but I’ve inspired myself! and it will be top of my list when I get back home.

Shooting 6 front doors in a studio and ensuring it still gives people a clear idea of the finished look is not an easy task! I decided we’d create a frontage & replicate 6 different styles. I thought it would be cute to rope Simon into creating me little “Paddington Bear” style illustrations on the shots to add the character of the home

Sadly {as is often the way} there was so much info to fit on the page it was a little too busy to use the illustrations, which is such a same because I think they’re sooooo cute! It still worked well though, but sadly they did manage to included the shots of me {I look far from my best mid shoot!}

I’ve been trying to decide which is my fave, I think the green door with the frosted number from the wonderful Frost & Co. Would love to know which is your favourite?

Client: Real Living; Photography; Chris Warnes, Styling: Me: Illustrations, Simon Ward

5 Comments

  1. Posted April 25, 2010 at 9:14 pm | Permalink

    oh I love those illustrations!

  2. Posted April 26, 2010 at 5:51 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie, I finally got around to reading my copy of Real Living over the long weekend and loved the feature on entrance doors which I instantly recognised as being your styling. My favourite was the last door.

    • Posted May 7, 2010 at 11:21 pm | Permalink

      Thanks Amanda, it’s so funny when people recognise my styling. My family and firend always say they know what I’ve done before reading the caption!

  3. Posted April 28, 2010 at 12:12 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie, Love the images with the illustrations. Such a shame they didn’t get used. Thanks for the mention as well.
    Cheers
    Cathy

  4. Horatio
    Posted April 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm | Permalink

    Yes I agree really liking the last door, maybe the colours, the illustrations are real sweet giving the photos real character and life.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

