Blog Makeover

Morning my friends. You may notice things are a little different around here this morning, my little blog celebrates its first birthday this week {I can’t believe how quickly this year has flown by} so I though it was about time for a little makeover. Simon has designed me this new look {it’s going to tie in with our new venture, but more on that another day!} and my brother has updated it for me. Please bear with us while we sort a few technical things {like trying to get the pesky boxes on the right hand side to work as links!} But I’d love to know what you think {the jury’s out here, I love it, as does Simon but my bro thinks he prefers the old look – this one is more me I think!}

I started this blog because I was working in a place where I was beginning to feel creatively stifled, I wanted to be able to share things that were lovely just because they were rather than needing a thousand reasons behind everything. I wanted to be able just to say “I love this” and not have to justify it to anyone. I didn’t ever really imagine people would find me, read me and most surprisingly come back for more. A year on and so much has changed, I followed my dream {something I really didn’t believe I was going to do until I was finally sitting on that plane} I now feel more inspired than ever, I’m loving work once more and this little blog has followed me every step of the way. I found some fantastic new blogging friends and life is good. Without wishing to sound like an Oscars acceptance speech, I wanted to thank my wonderful family & Simon for supporting me so much and allowing me to follow those dreams and to all of you, every time I read your comments I really does make my day x

Ps. Back later with the latest Real Living shoot but for now I’m off to wonderful Palm Beach…as I said, life is good! x

12 Comments

  1. Posted March 17, 2010 at 11:27 am | Permalink

    I love the new look – Happy Blog Birthday!

  2. Posted March 17, 2010 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    Oh my, those sweet little birds holding the ‘British Bunting’ along the top…perfect!

    I do so enjoy visiting – such a lovely, inspiring blog!

    Ingrid x

    P.S If only I were brave enough to try a few new things on my blog…maybe you’ve given me the courage!

  3. Posted March 17, 2010 at 12:05 pm | Permalink

    Gorgeous new site – I love it! A good excuse to come visit your actual website and not just the RSS feed. PS. Congratulations on putting together a delightful blog for a year, here’s to many more!

  4. Posted March 17, 2010 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

    I absolutely LOVE IT!! Im working on a blog makeover too! And I feel inspired. I vote this one for sure over the other one. it is edgy, cool, yet nostalgic and has a gentle nod to the past and handmade goodness. i really love the little stain on the fabric that is to the right of this comment box right now. beautiful bird illustrations.

  5. Posted March 17, 2010 at 5:21 pm | Permalink

    Hi marie,

    i really like the dark background , and those birds holding up the bunting together and the stitches by the side. it is unique and lovely! happy 1st year anniversary!

  6. Posted March 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm | Permalink

    Happy 1st birthday to your gorgeous blog!! LOVE the new look so much – it’s really great x

  7. Clare Steel
    Posted March 17, 2010 at 8:35 pm | Permalink

    stop teasing us with tales of your next venture. You know how I hate not knowing!

  8. Posted March 17, 2010 at 9:52 pm | Permalink

    I love it the new look, and enjoying reading about your world. It’s just so wonderfully different to anything else out there.

    I espceially love that you are enjoying writing your blog, as much as I am enjoying reading it.

    • Posted March 17, 2010 at 10:13 pm | Permalink

      Thank you all so much for you kind words & for keeping on reading! I have to say I can’t really take much credit for the new look, it’s all down to Mr Lovely! and yes the little birds & bunting are my fave bit too! Heather can’t wait to see your makeover; Clare I so know how you hate being kept in suspence…but news will follow soon! x

  9. Posted March 17, 2010 at 10:45 pm | Permalink

    Great makeover, but one thing I would say, there does not appear to be a home page link, I’ve clicked through from my google reader, as I pften do, but then I can’t visit the rest of the blog as a whole, i do love to read other posts onec I have clicked over.
    Other than that you are looking fab!

  10. Your Brother
    Posted March 18, 2010 at 6:25 am | Permalink

    Erm hello sister, I think you’ll find I didn’t say I preferred either! I said that I liked both!

  11. Posted March 18, 2010 at 8:45 am | Permalink

    I think it’s DIVINE. I love everything about it. The layers, the colours, the images. Well done. I know it’s not easy redesigning a site, but I think it looks fab. Congrats. n x


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

