New Idea Shoot: Girls Bedroom

Well it’s my first week back working after several weeks off and it’s all go. unfortunately I’m still in “holiday mode” and everything seems to be taking me twice as long – is anyone else suffering from post holiday blues?

I can spare a few mins to share with you the Little Girls Bedroom feature I shot for New Idea recently – this was such fun to do {and inspired by our friends gorgeous daughter Ella}

What room is more of a joy to decorate than a child’s room? I love this wall sticker and the little dresses were so cute I had to show them off. I was thinking it would be really sweet to turn the wall sticker into a family tree with photo’s pegged up?

This room makes me want to be a little girl all over again!

Here are the sketches, mood board and the finished feature {this one changed a bit because I kept finding more and more gorgeous goodies! }

6 Comments

  1. Posted January 13, 2010 at 12:38 am | Permalink

    I love the idea of a family tree photo display, that would look amazing (not to mention something easy to DIY…) A side affect of the industry I work in, I also think that idea would be perfect for a wedding guestbook/wish tree and am now intent in talking a client into trying it out!🙂

    For some reason it always feels like you can let loose a little with kids rooms and be really bright/creative, not sure why I don’t just do that with the rest of the house though!

    Those butterflies are super adorable too.

  2. elizabeth
    Posted January 13, 2010 at 4:47 am | Permalink

    I showed Ella and she loved it, she asked when Marie was going to put lovely things in her bedroom!!! She liked the bunting!! xx

  3. Posted January 13, 2010 at 7:28 pm | Permalink

    So cute! I can’t wait to decorate childrens’ rooms…many many years from now. Haha!

  4. Posted January 14, 2010 at 1:33 pm | Permalink

    This room is so cute! Perfect for a little girl. I can’t wait to be able to decorate for a little girl hopefully some day.🙂

  5. Posted January 14, 2010 at 5:23 pm | Permalink

    What a lovely room Marie! I enjoy seeing your initial sketches. Everything works together so nicely and I love the tree decal on the lemon walls. Every time I am flicking through a copy of my Ideal Home Magazines lately and find an article of something I love, you seem to be the stylist!! You have such a lovely way of bringing things together🙂

  6. Posted January 15, 2010 at 5:54 pm | Permalink

    Wow! This turned out beautifully. Nice to see your sketches and mood board!
    Congratulations🙂


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

