Ideal Home: 3 Ways With Letters

Here are some shots from the very last feature I did for the Feb issue of Ideal Home, which is on sale now {one final plug for the magazine I called home for 6 years!}

I’m a huge fan of letters. Back home we have quite a collection of random vintage ones that we’ve slowly gathered over the years. For this feature I used ones that don’t take such scavenging and are super easy to get you hands on.

I’m loving old wooden Scrabble tiles right now, {in fact I could have done a whole feature on Scrabble tiles alone!} Their cute little holders make them perfect for place settings. Forgive me but I’ve been racking my brain and can’t remember where I got these tiles from {had rather a lot on at the time of shooting this…packing up my life and moving to the other side of the world!} They are credited in the mag though, I just don’t have a copy, and there are heaps on Etsy. {Archie is the name of my super cute 2-year-old godson, who as of last week is now the big brother to little Fletcher – Who I’m missing out on cuddles with right now, and is a major cause of homesickness!}

How about creating a sweet “A is for Apple” 3d learning aid in a kids room? How gorgeous are these pastel coloured letters? They were from the gorgeous Morello Living, but I’ve just checked their website and they’ve now ceased trading, which is such a shame they sold lovely goodies. I do know that you can find similar letters at the equally as lovely Dee Puddy

When I saw these self adhesive letters from old fave, Cox & Cox and thought they’d be perfect for spelling out subtle messages. Paint them same shade as your walls to give an embossed effect

Magazine, Ideal Home; Photography, Simon Whitmore; Styling, Me

4 Comments

  1. Sandra
    Posted January 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm | Permalink

    Thought I’d appoint myself as your assistant Marie, and have looked up the suppliers of wooden Scrabble tiles – it’s Scrabble Spares

    xx

  2. Posted January 6, 2010 at 7:33 pm | Permalink

    What beautiful shots. I’m a bit of a sucker for letters too and am going to trawl through the snow right now to get myself a copy!

  3. Posted January 7, 2010 at 6:19 pm | Permalink

    I love Scrabble tiles too and have some Etsy sellers bookmarked – I just need to decide on which word I want to display🙂 Love the ‘Home Sweet Home’ image. Love your styling work.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

