New Idea Storage Shoot

I picked up a copy of New Idea today and the storage feature I shot for them is in it, wanna see?

I’m quite into grey and red combo’s at the moment. It’s a definite move on from the Black and Red that just shouts 8o’s boys bedroom; Ferrari posters and hideous duvet covers to me! {Please feel free to correct me if I’m wrong?}

And I have to say I’ve got shelf envy. I have realised that part of my problem in making my apartment feel homely, is that I have no ledges to put anything on, nowhere to display, which believe me is traumatic! Back home I have many a ledge brimming with carefully arranged objet, making it feel…well just very me. This little apartment is my first attempt at minimal, and it’s overrated, it simply isn’t very me {poor Simon I think he’ll jump off our very beautiful balcony if he hears me say “I have no ledges” any more!} Any enough about my ledges, {or lack of them}

Here’s the mood boards I popped together for the shoot. I’m not sure if they are of any interest ? but I’ll share them anyway!

Magazine: New Idea: Photographer: Craig Wall: Stylist: Me

5 Comments

  1. Posted January 4, 2010 at 11:28 pm | Permalink

    I’m so pleased to read someone else as obsessed with ledges as me. I have completely empty drawers and cupboards in our house simply to have something to place things on. I totally get the need for ledges!

    Please keep posting your moodboards – I always find it so interesting how an idea develops from a sketch and photo collage into the shoot – it’s very inspiring! Thankyou!

    PS. Is it too early to ask Santa for an Eames rocker? I really think I must have one to put near my ledges🙂

    • Marie Nichols
      Posted January 5, 2010 at 8:25 am | Permalink

      Yes! a girl after my own heart! I’m goin to have to buy some more furniture, it just seems so crazy when I have to up and leave it all in 6 months time, but my need for a ledge is simply too great, and hey what was ebay invented for?!
      And no certainly not too early to start next years wish list x

  2. Posted January 5, 2010 at 3:15 am | Permalink

    That all looks fab. We are just about to redecorate our living room and decided on a grey theme. It’s definitely the new neutral. Thanks for all this inspiration

  3. Posted January 5, 2010 at 3:20 am | Permalink

    I love the color theme, I wish I could paint in my apartment. I also really like how the frames are hung

  4. Posted January 6, 2010 at 5:08 pm | Permalink

    What a great storage nook. Was great to see how your moodboard ideas developed into the final shoot. Would love to see more!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

