Veneer Butterflies

Over the past few weeks, while strolling around Sydney I’ve noticed many of the trees here are big on exfoliating and seem to be shedding their bark for summer. I kept seeing amazing pieces of bark littering the pavement and thought they were so beautiful I instantly wanted to do something with them.

bark

So yesterday evening (under the cover of darkness, didn’t want the neighbours thinking I was totally bonkers!)I did a little “street combing” and with the help of a paper template made some little veneer butterflies. I have no idea what I’m going to do with them yet, but cute don’t you think?

Butterflies1

tag-blog

butterflies2

4 Comments

  1. Clare Steel
    Posted November 9, 2009 at 11:10 pm | Permalink

    can you start selling tree bark over the internet – I want to make some of your lovely butterflies! (or could you just make me some of your lovely butterflies?!).

    Hope you’re having a great time and that Simon is getting on well with the French language!

    Clare X

  2. Posted November 10, 2009 at 2:51 am | Permalink

    what a great idea! very pretty.

  3. Posted November 10, 2009 at 4:20 am | Permalink

    What a wonderful and original idea! Lovely work!!

  4. Sandra
    Posted November 10, 2009 at 6:09 am | Permalink

    Oh Marie (clever daughter of mine) what a really lovely idea. Your butterflies look absolutely beautiful. Lots of love xx


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] Now to be honest I’m not entirely sure where I stand on Wall stickers. I love them in Kids rooms and certain areas of the home but I’m not sure I would generally put them in a living room. I use then quite a lot in “update/makeover” shoots because they are so quick and easy and are of course removable without trace, which is what makes them so perfect for a rental property. I covered the old shoe boxes in wallpaper {a far trickier task than I had imagined!} so they now make slightly more attractive storage! I’ve also finally found a home for my little Bark Butterflies, remember them from here? […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

