A day in the life…

One of the thing’s that I love about my job, is every day is different. Simon used to describe what I did for a living as arranging napkins…I’d like to think there’s a little more to it than that! I spent today, getting to grips with my new $10 garage sale sewing machine.

Sewing1

I may have been a little hasty reporting that it was working so well. I’ve been making some things for my Real Living shoot next week, and all was going sew {tee hee} well…until $10 machine decided to have a moment, an un-explainable moment, other than it’s just decided not to work – arrgghh!!. I decided to give it a little time to think about it’s actions and took myself off to my local florist to collect some flowers for tomorrow’s bathroom shoot.

Hydrangea

Have you ever seen these before? They’re a type of Hydrangea, {I’m sure the florist called them Lace head?} aren’t they gorgeous, rather than one big mas of flowers each bloom is broken up with tiny buds. Hydrangea’s are one of my favourite flowers, my grandparents used to grow them all around their bungalow. Anyway, after a mad dash to David Jones to buy some towels, {having been let down very last min by a pr – double arrgghh!} I’m home and all ready for tomorrow’s shoot.

$10 machine still doesn’t want to play! I’m hoping if I leave it over night the Sewing fairies may fix it for me {sadly that’s normally my mum…and she’s in the UK!}

 

2 Comments

  1. Posted October 28, 2009 at 7:18 pm | Permalink

    Hi Marie
    How frustrating! I hope the sewing fairy visits, or that you can wing it somehow! My machine did that to me too, just when I had 30 crazy toys promised to my daughters by the next day. I wanted to throw it out the window. Anyway, it is lovely to discover your blog & your amazing work (via brown button.) I am smitten!

    • Marie Nichols
      Posted October 30, 2009 at 6:57 pm | Permalink

      Thank you for the kind words – and pleased to know I’m not alone on the sewing machine thing!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

