Boot Fair Bargains

Another reason to love Spring, it’s the start of Bootfair season! I love nothing more than spending my Sunday mornings rummaging through the jumble at a car boot (a weekend pursuit most of my friends really don’t understand!). Today was my first car boot of the year and rather than buying, the aim was to downsize and get rid of some of my own faded treasures. Well….I did get rid of heaps, however the car was almost as full on the way home as it was on the way there! The stall opposite had 4 fab directors chairs that will be perfect for my one day second home by the sea! and a great little set of drawers perfect to house the overflow from my craft cupboard.

 

A Whole Lotta Lovely for under £20!

A Whole Lotta Lovely for under £20!

Half of the fun of a car boot is hunting out the bargains. Here are my top tips for Car Booting

1. Get there early for the best treasures but leave it later for the best bargains

2.Barter – ask what price the seller will take but don’t be afraid to try and knock the price down especially later in the morning)

3. Take plenty of change, it’s easier to haggle and you don’t feel so bad about doing so. It’s always embarrasing when you’ve knocked something down from £5 to £4 and then have to give a fiver anyway!

4. Check out several carboots in your local area – they can differ quite a lot. Visit Carboot junction to find out what’s happening in your local area

5. Have fun, and let me know about your fab finds!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] camping trip of 2009! I’ve got a gorgeous Cath Kidston floral tent and I took my new car boot directors chairs, and bucket bbq but I’m still lacking a few […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

