The Pop-Up Office

Yesterday afternoon I decided I’d had enough of working from the sofa. What was the perfect spot for an office during the Olympics isn’t the “office space” most conducive to creative ideas. Plans for my office have shifted further down our priority list over the past couple of months so  realistically we are probably looking at  middle of next year before I get my perfectly functioning office / craft space. So I decided to set up a temporary work space – that was somewhat more functional than its current state…full of boxes and more inspiring than my sofa!

The boxes are now neatly stacked against one wall, rather than dumped in the middle of the room where I left them after stripping the wallpaper! Allowing me space for my desk and  an area to set up the printers, now I have a perfectly functioning office to tide me over the next few months, complete for inspiration board where I can pin-up everything I’m loving.

 

It’s amazing what a difference actually having desk space makes. I don’t know about you but sitting on my lap top anywhere but at a desk means I’m far too easily distracted?! I’m feeling far more focused already!

 

6 Comments

  1. Posted October 20, 2012 at 6:07 pm | Permalink

    Yippee Marie, I’m so glad you are back! Wholelottalovely is always one of my first ‘go to’s’ for inspiration and I’ve missed it! A huge congratulations on your exciting baby news also. I’m really enjoying the house posts and am looking forward to seeing all the progress.
    Claire.x

  2. Kate
    Posted October 21, 2012 at 12:34 am | Permalink

    Hi Marie,

    Beautiful temporary office! Just wondering what you used to stick the photos on your mood board wall?

    Thanks!
    – Kate

    • Posted October 22, 2012 at 12:42 pm | Permalink

      Hi Kate,
      Thanks! I’m afraid it wasn’t anything very exciting on innovative, just some good old fashioned Blu Tac! and some Japanese masking tape for the pretty bits!
      Mx

      • Kate
        Posted October 22, 2012 at 1:32 pm | Permalink

        Thanks for the tip. I love the simple tape frame…it’s striking but doesn’t take away from the mood-board itself. So clever!

  3. Posted November 8, 2012 at 2:17 pm | Permalink

    It’s true about having your laptop on your lap – I do twice as much work when I’m at my desk as opposed to infront of the telly.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,545 other followers

